How To Install Google Drive on Server 2008 R2

Running Microsoft Server 2008 R2 as your home lab but also use it as your desktop? Trying to install Google Drive and getting the following error?

The installer encountered error 1603: Fatal error during installation.

Or

The application has failed to start because its side-by-side configuration is incorrect

It’s because it as a dependency it doesn’t tell you about, you need Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x64) to install it and then Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86) to actually run it! As soon as you’ve installed it you can run the usual googledrivesync.exe installaer and that’s it!

Get the downloads (around 4Mb) from Microsoft below:

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x64)

Microsoft Visual C++ 2008 SP1 Redistributable Package (x86)

Tags: , , , ,

12 responses to “How To Install Google Drive on Server 2008 R2”

  1. Mike Waldron says :

    Thank you for this! I use a VPS 2008 R2 server and had this exact issue…

  2. Caio Ferragut says :

    Thank you, helped me alot!!

  3. Shawky Foda says :

    Thank You ..It helps a lot …

  4. Nagendra Pratap Singh says :

    This worked for me.
    In the first attempt, I only installed the x64 version.

  5. Andy R says :

    Thank you. Worked perfectly/

  6. Lorenzo says :

    I love you

  7. Ricky Terry II says :

    I had a separate issue with the actual ‘googledrivesynce.exe’ app where at the login window it only showed one moment please….

    my resolve had zero to do with IE, however, I simply had to ‘Run As Administrator’… I created a service account so that my 1TB Cloud Drive would sync to my dfs stack and its working. However, I didn’t configure it for DFS as i am shifting from Windows Role Based permissions to Google Admin’s New Permissions, this migration gave us an opportunity to clean up the mess that was left behind before I was hired on.

    What I find awesome is that you can use Google’s Groups to apply permissions to the folders, if not, I can simply remigrate using the ‘active directory tool’ however that tool will only ‘clone’ the garbage permissions done before I was brought one. Im looking to measure twice and cut one, sort of speak. Thanks for this forum though!

  8. Victor galli says :

    eu te amo!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  9. Brando Rico says :

    This helped a lot… If you dont mind Id like to translate this info to spanish and repost it in another site. This is useful stuff!

Leave a Reply

